Steven’s story

I write in regard to the proposed new legislation to change family and marriage immigration law as proposed by Theresa May – http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2012/jun/08/immigration-rules-couples-stark-choice?CMP=twt_gu .
As you may be aware, this legislation proposes to set an economic threshold (either in income or savings) to reunite families with members outside the EU – this could be a family reunion from the Indian subcontinent, or an expat in the US bringing their American spouse home, or a backpacker in Australia wishing to marry his Australian bride in the land of his birth. This also opens the possibility of British citizens having to leave their country and move to countries with poor human rights records.

I have recently brought my fiancee from Japan here on a fiancee visa. We are getting married in the next few weeks, and we will apply for a spouse visa as soon as we have married.

I am about to lose my job. I am in a very fortunate position in that I have I have substantial savings (over the very high threshold under the new rules), as well as my fiancee being ‘grandfathered in’, and should find another job quickly, as well as my fiancee being ‘grandfathered in’ under existing rules. I am absolutely terrified of how this legislation will affect my and my fiancee’s future. This should be a happy time in our lives and it is being ruined through no fault of our own.

The agenda of the government appears to be to prevent people from outside the EU settling in the UK – even at the expense of marriage or family life, human rights, and indeed to encourage British citizens – whose families may have been in the UK since time immemorial – to leave the UK in the name of reducing ‘net immigration’.

This is a deeply immoral piece of legislation. Keep up the fight!

For this cause shall a man leave father and mother, and shall cleave to his wife: and they twain shall be one flesh?/Wherefore they are no more twain, but one flesh. What therefore God hath joined together, let not man put asunder.

– Matthew 19 6-7 (King James)

 

Steven

Leave a Reply

