I’m just another statistic – Rene’s story

I’m also battling under the new immigration laws. I have not seen my husband and children for three months. My daughter’s are 11 and two. 
Here’s my story:
I am a South African born british citizen by decent. Things in SA are definitely rocky so my husband and I (we have been married for 12 years) decided that it’s time to get a better life; if not for us, for our girls. We heard of the financial requirement law so decided that I would come to the UK and look for work. To make matters worse my children aren’t even with their father in south Africa because he works 12 hour shifts. They are with my in-laws so my children have LOST BOTH PARENTS. So here I am in the UK three months down the line and just got a job working for KFC. What I need to do now is work seven days a week on the minimum wage of £6.31 an hour, 12 hours a day, to earn 
£25441.92 per annum. This is so I meet the £24800 financial requirement needed when you have two non-EU children. And this I have to do for six months. One is not supposed to work more than 48 hours a week, but I need to work 84!
I have seven years graphic design experience working for a newspaper and magazine publication. But in the last three months I didn’t get one interview because I have no degree or diploma. I thought Britain was better. I thought my children could flourish and one day also contribute to the UK economy because of the great education system. My 11 year old needs to start school in September how am I going to get that right . My husband has worked 12 hour shifts for 16 years of his life in South Africa. Does the immigration authority really think a man of that determination and stature is going to come sit on his bum in the UK and live off of public funds? No, I don’t thinks so. Well I gotta sleep now to start conserving energy, because from Monday my seven day a week job starts. My heart is breaking.


3 Comments on “I’m just another statistic – Rene’s story”

  1. danish0909 says:

    Hi there. I totally agree with you. As a matter of fact, I am myself going through this crap.We have been married for 3 years and out of that have stayed together only for around 6 months. Though its nothing compared to the years that you both have been together, but it breaks my heart, when I talk to my wife in the UK. Literally, she has to work her butt off so that we both can live together. Sometime, the shift goes up to 12-14 hours a day. I am drawing a hand some salary here in KSA, and am well educated (at least that is what I would like to think). I am pretty sure that I can find a suitable job on landing there. Is it a crime to get married to a Non EU citizen? Does she have to pay a penalty to the government since she has found a suitable partner outside of UK. I had purposely sent her to the UK since I knew that going ahead we will have children and I would want them to get a decent standard of living and good education. But I had never imagined that all of that comes with a big penalty. I just hope my poor wife does not have to suffer for long.

  2. elia says:

    Hello Rene i am so sorry about your situation.
    I am EU citizen but i grow-up in cape town . so i came to Europe when i was 19 years old. But i had my sister with the same problem as you. My sister had European passport and my nephew was born in SA with a SA passport.
    She came to UK with her South African husband and child. No Problems
    When i was living in UK there were many SA people did the same thing.
    If you want i can ask my sister. What papers she need .
    I wish you all the best

  3. Jen says:

    This is so concerning. My husband, myself and our 12month old are looking to return back to the UK, I have British citizenship by descent. My baby was born in South Africa and my husband is South African. Am I not able to register my baby in the UK if I return? Was thinking of going over to the UK, hubby on a 6 month visitors visa, he can look after the little 1 while I work and meet the financial agreement, then he return here and apply for a spousal? How terribly sad that we all have to be split up?


Leave a comment